2014 MTI Golf Tournament

7th Annual 2014 MTI Golf Tournament

The seventh annual Mitchell Technical Institute Alumni Association Golf Tournament was held Monday, September 18, 2014 at Lakeview Municipal Golf Course in Mitchell. For the first time in its history, the field was full, as 112 golfers enjoyed near-perfect weather and a fun-filled afternoon.

The skill level of the players was as diverse as the realms they represented, as students, parents, faculty, industry reps, alumni and donors competed for medalist honors and a variety of pin prizes. The tournament has grown each year since its founding, but the objective has never changed - raise scholarship funds. In years past, ten $500 scholarships have been awarded to student golfers. This year, however, thanks to a significant increase in donor support, that number more than doubled, as 21 MTI student golfers won $500 scholarships in a random drawing.

The tournament is a nine-hole event and features a two-person, best-ball format. First place finishers on the front nine were Eric Nesheim and Nick Reiff, both MTI grads and employees of East River Electric. On the back nine, MTI students Travis Earls and Brooks Koopal brought home the loot. The most unique feature of this event also ensures that no student leaves empty-handed. In what has become a tournament tradition, every student golfer is given a bag of groceries filled with "student-friendly" fare compliments of various supporters. A special thanks goes out to the many MTI faculty and staff who support the event in so many ways. Without your assistance and cooperation, this tournament would not be possible.

Sponsors of this year's event were:

TransCanada (Major sponsor)    Paulson Air 
Patzer Woodworking    Avera Queen of Peace
Davison County/SD Pork Producers   Pepsi
First National Bank South Dakota
The Depot
  County Fiar
CorTrust Bank
  Home Federal Bank
Mr. Golf Car, Inc.
  Taco Bell
SD Community Foundation
  Brink Constructors
East River Electric Power Co-op
Wells Fargo
Power Brokers Inc.
  Northwestern Energy
Rep. Tona Rozum

Marmen Energy
Muth Electric

Paul J. Strawhecker, Inc.
Central Electric Co-op

Action Battery Wholesalers, Inc.

Scholarship winners were:

Tomas Toucedo, Cote Hinker, Andrew Taggart, Colton Bierle, Tyler Durfee, Noah Munsen, Matt Boden, Dustin Thompson, Brooks Koopal, Travis Earls, Isaac Kruse, Tanner Knutson, Devon Carroll, Austin Weyers, Austin Agler, Joshua Schwingler, Eric Zepp, Jared Classen, Geoff Ramaker, Cody Denison and Patrick Donohoe

Contact Alumni
For any questions about the Golf Tournament, contact:

Heather Lentz
Executive Director